Unwelcome Lessons

I have learned a lesson today about what I thought was a real friendship but this lesson or instance has left me doubting the validity of the connection!!!

As you all know i struggle with depression and anxiety and this diagnosis has taken me down many different difficult paths!!
In the midst of the depression I lost who I was – lost my identity, my passions and hobbies got forgotten!!

I finally am starting to feel like myself again and getting back to things that brought me peace and enjoyment as well as focusing on my goals to turn the negativity from my shopping addiction into something positive!!!

I would have thought that anyone who cared about me would have been supportive and encouraging, but I learned that not everyone is embracing who I am!! I have been accused of not being myself and losing who I am!!

This from someone who I considered a close friend – at first I considered it but something was not sitting right with the statements so I spoke to my husband about my concerns!!

He said that he feels I am doing really good and he says he is proud of me,so I am left wheeling about why a friend would use such statements!

Should friends not cheer you on?

6 thoughts on “Unwelcome Lessons

  1. These sort of situations actually give you an insight into who your real friends are. I have two friends who found this out – one when she was diagnosed with cancer – so called friends fled…I can’t write how I feel about them! The other married a rather well off man & they had a very elite social life. When he lost his job & was out of work for 2 years most of these so called ‘friends’ disappeared! No support, no helping with leads for other jobs- nothing..it was appalling. So if a ‘friend’ leaves you either physically or emotionally in times of stress, dire need or recovery then they are not a true friend.
    You are better off without them pulling you down. Be strong and follow your path.

    • Thank you for your kind words!!
      Funny thing is she was there when i hadn’t pulled myself up from depression completely and was giving my time to her!!
      Now that I am trying to get a hold on debt and finding my way back to who i am – it was like wham your not yourself!!
      When I told my husband this – all he would say is consider the source – it’s coming from someone who ca’t get her life together!!

  2. Yes, friends should support you. Sometimes a deep down competitiveness in people makes them want to thwart their friends’ development..if so, move on – real friends support the positive and re-inforce it. 🙂

  3. I obviously don’t know much about the circumstance and agree friends should always support you, but is it possible she/he doesn’t know the circumstances around your depression and the positive progress you’ve made? It could be they’re trying to help and just don’t understand. In that case, it might be a good idea to explain why you feel better and ask for support. And if they’re still spewing the same stuff, f*%$ ’em. They’re not a friend if they don’t support what’s best for you!

Leave a Reply

